The Maids of Honour Tart has been part of Richmond history for nearly 500 years. It is believed that Henry VIII was the first to use its name when he met Ann Boleyn and other Maids Of Honour at his Royal House hold of Richmond Palace eating the cakes from a silver dish.
The first Richmond Maids of Honour shop can be traced back to the early 18th Century and it is here Robert Newens, the grandfather, served his apprenticeship. The cakes soon became a feature of taking tea in fashionable Richmond.
In 1850 Robert Newens continued the tradition of selling and making Maids Of Honour Tarts and in 1860 moved his shop to Kew where it can still be found to this day. The current family owners have maintained this tradition and continue to serve their long standing speciality “Maids Of Honour”.
The bakery and tearooms also provide a mouthwatering experience for any visitor and offer a huge variety of high quality home made cakes, meat pies, cream teas and traditional English Luncheons. The shop now holds its own unique place in Richmond’s history having served its community and its visitors for over a century and a half.